Tap to Read ➤

Elephant: The Biggest Mammal on Land

melis erbas

General Information

All elephants are mammals belonging to the elephantidae family.

There are two subspecies of the African elephant: the savanna elephant
and the forest elephant. There are three subspecies of Asian elephant: the Indian, the Sri Lankan, and the Sumatran elephant.

Where do they live?

Afican elephants live in sub-Saharan Africa, the rainforests of Central and West Africa and in the desert of Mali.

Asian elephants live in Nepal, India, Sri Lanka and Southeast Asia in forests or in rainforests.

Physical Features

Asian elephants differ in several ways from their African relatives. They are much smaller in size and their ears are straight. However African elephants have got large fan-shape ears.

Both of them move their ears backwards and forwards to cool themselves. Only some Asian elephants have tusks. All African elephants including females have tusks.


These animals have deep bonds with their families. The group of elephants is called a herd. The herd's leader is the oldest often the largest female.

When a calf is born, the herd protects the baby. Males leave the family between the ages of 12-15.

Are they clever?

Yesssss!!! Elephants are extremely intelligent animals and have good memories. They can remember many events from the past. They also show their feelings like grief, joy and  anger.

What do they eat?

They love grasses, leaves and bamboo. Some elephants also like bananas and sugarcane. How do elephants find these? Farmers grow these crops. They also love watermelon!

Are they in danger?

People hunt elephants beacause of their ivory tusks. These beautiful animals also face with losing the habitat.