Tap to Read ➤

Stone-cold Facts About King Crabs

Stephen Rampur
King crabs are well-known due to their exceptionally big size and their ability to reside in cold waters. This story provides some basic facts about the various species of king crabs.
King crabs are one of the most hunted sea dwellers. There are different species of these creatures which are found in seas all around the globe. They are also known as 'stone crabs' due to their appearance. They prefer to live in freezing cold waters, whereas other species of crabs are normally found in warmer waters.
They are the largest amongst all kinds of crabs, and have a great commercial demand and importance. Some of their species are used as food by many people due to their size and taste. Japanese and American restaurants are famous for preparing king crab recipes.
Around 40 species of these crabs are known till now. The most common are Red, Blue, and Golden King crabs, which are generally found in Alaskan waters.

Red King Crab

These types of crabs are widely-distributed in comparison to other species. They are generally found in the water bodies of Japan, and towards the north in the sea of Okhotsk. Scientifically, they are known as paralithodes camtschaticus. They contribute greatly to the seafood business, and are widely bought and sold in the commercial market.
They are also the most expensive amongst all crab types which are considered as food. They are the most difficult ones to catch, which is the primary reason for them being so highly expensive.
Famous hunting grounds of Red King crabs are the Bering Sea and the Norton Sound, Alaska. Their outer covering can grow up to 11 inches, and their legs can grow up to 1.8 meters.

Blue King Crab

These crabs are usually hunted in Alaska. Their scientific name is paralithodes platypus. The ones which are caught in the Pribilof Islands are the largest among the Blue King crabs. They have a brown-colored body with blue highlights on it. They have exceptionally big claws which seem really dangerous.

Golden King Crab

These crabs are also known as lithodes aequispinus, and are generally found in regions from the British Columbia to the Aleutian Islands, and also Japan. These are relatively smaller in size in comparison with other species. As their name suggests, they have a golden-colored outer covering.

Granular Claw Crab

These crabs are scientifically called oedignathus inermis. They are usually found in large numbers across the Pacific coast of the USA, from California to Alaska. A feature that differentiates them from other species is the large number of eminences which are visible on the planate chelipeds and leg areas. They usually reside underneath purple-colored algae.

Rhinoceros Crab

These are also called golf-ball crabs, and are normally found at depths of about 10-75 meters. Their shell is triangular in shape, and approximately seven centimeters in length. There are numerous spines and bristle-like structures present on the legs of these crabs.

Scarlet King Crab

They are scientifically known as lithodes couesi, and are smaller in size. They are found in large numbers, which lessens their commercial value.
Fishing for king crabs is largely carried out in Alaska. Due to this reason, the government has implemented regulations on overfishing to save these King crabs from becoming extinct.